top of page

Authors In Focus: Patricia M Osborne (Guest Blog)

Romance in a Family Saga

A family saga covers life situations, and as romance happens in life, you can’t have a family saga without a love story. The ‘House of Grace’ trilogy brings its own romance.

House of Grace, the first book in the trilogy, opens when sixteen-year-old Grace Granville has finished school and, with her father’s agreement, takes a vacation in Bolton to stay with her best friend. Here, Grace meets the man of her dreams, coal miner Jack Gilmore, at the local palais. She is blissfully unaware that her father, Lord Granville, is planning a wedding for her with a suitor of his choice but on discovery her best friend comes up with a plot to defy her father in order that Grace can marry Jack. Grace’s love life is not without hurdles.

House of Grace has at least three romances, which like in life, don’t always run smoothly but come with upheavals. For instance, Grace’s choice of Jack means she loses her sister and parents as well as the privileges that come with her titled heritage. However, they thrive as a couple until tragedy hits. Only later does she accept the possibility of new love in her life.

Also featured is the romance between Grace’s friend and business partner, Charlotte, with Jack’s Uncle Max, a surprise pairing due to differences in age. And last but not least, Grace’s estranged sister Elizabeth, marries for love after being released from a devastating arranged marriage when widowed.

The Coal Miner’s Son is no exception to romance either and as in House of Grace it looks at both young and mature love, the disappointments and rejections, the personal journeys towards trust and intimacy. Again pairings that defy convention and family expectation.

Love and loss is also a recurring theme in the final title in the series, ‘The Granville Legacy’, currently a work in progress. A family saga is also a complex unfolding of love stories across generations.

Blurb for The Coal Miner’s Son

After tragedy hits the small coal mining village of Wintermore, nine-year-old miner’s son, George, is sent to Granville Hall to live with his titled grandparents.

Caught up in a web of treachery and deceit, George grows up believing his mother sold him. He’s determined to make her pay, but at what cost? Is he strong enough to rebel?

Will George ever learn to forgive?

Step back into the 60s and follow George as he struggles with bereavement, rejection and a kidnapping that changes his life forever. Resistance is George’s only hope.

Patricia's books can be found on Amazon.

House of Grace

The Coal Miner’s Son

Books may also be ordered at any reputable bookstore or from your local library by quoting ISBN numbers

ISBN 9780995710702 – House of Grace

ISBN 9780995710719 – The Coal Miner’s Son

Connect with Patricia via:

Twitter @PMOsborneWriter

About Patricia M Osborne

Patricia M Osborne is married with grown-up children and grandchildren. She was born in Liverpool but now lives in West Sussex. In 2019 she graduated with an MA in Creative Writing (University of Brighton).

Patricia writes novels, poetry and short fiction, and has been published in various literary magazines and anthologies. Her first poetry pamphlet ‘Taxus Baccata’ is to be published by Hedgehog Poetry Press during 2020.

She has a successful blog at where she features other writers and poets. When Patricia isn’t working on her own writing, she enjoys sharing her knowledge, acting as a mentor to fellow writers and as an online poetry tutor with Writers’ Bureau.

The Coal Miner’s Son is the second book in the House of Grace trilogy.


bottom of page